On the fourth ball of the 45th final, Shardul’s delivery was thrown by Reci van der Dussa al Thaipad. The ball then came to rest in Pant’s gloves.
JOHANNESBURG: There is technology in cricket to ensure that no batter is misfired. But there is still a dispute over a wicket. Resi van der Duce’s wicket became controversial today on the second day of the Johannesburg test. Rishi Pant catches Resi Van der Dusa against Shardul Thakur (Rishabh’s pants) I took. The referee fired him. But on replay, Resi van der Dusa seemed not to be out. (IND VS SA 2nd test rishabh pant controversial catch rassie van der dussen dean elgar appeals to third referee)
On the fourth ball of the 45th final, Shardul’s delivery was thrown by Reci van der Dussa al Thaipad. The ball then came to rest in Pant’s gloves. Punch Erasmus fired the other. But the replay showed the ball hitting the ground before coming to rest in the gloves. Commenters also felt the other was not out.
After viewing the images, the third referee said
The South African team also saw the video. Captain Dean Elgar and the team manager then went to the third referee. He complained that Dusa was unfairly fired. The third referee saw footage of Dussa’s wicket after the hosts’ appeal. The third referee said that the ball did not appear to have touched the ground before entering the gloves. Therefore, it is not possible to speak to the Indian captain at Dussa’s wicket, he said.
… So Resi van der Dusa could have entered the field
If the third referee had thought that Resi van der Dusa was not out, Rahul would have been asked to withdraw his appeal. If Rahul had been ready, Rasi van der Dussa would have been able to hit again.